Just Bliss

Integrity is virtue

Posted on: September 16, 2014


integrity is virtue

integrity is virtue

It was a cold and windy night. We friends met after a long time and were chatting for hours in a restaurant. We did not notice that time flew away and it was close to ten. We decided to take an auto rickshaw to go back home.

It started raining and we hurried to get into an auto rickshaw and reach our place. None of the auto rickshaws stopped for us, except one.

The driver asked us where we wanted to go and we told the place. Without a single word about fare, he said, ‘please get in!’

It was so cold and heavy shower of rain made it chillier so we at once got in the rickshaw

However we thanked the kind driver for stopping for us when no other rickshaw or taxi did.

The driver asked us where we wanted to go and we told the place. Without talking anything about the fare he started to move.

Since it was very cold, so I asked  Rehman (the driver) to stop and have a cup of tea with us when we got home.

He refused. I insisted him to take a cup as it was very cold.

He refused again.

My friend asked, ‘Do you mind having tea with us?’

Driver Rehman replied,  ‘Thank you sir, but I’m sorry I don’t feel like having tea now.’

My friend asked, ‘Do you have any habit that you won’t eat outside?’

Rehman said, ‘No!’

My friend became angry on him, ‘You think we are not equal to share a cup of tea with you?’

I was really surprised at his behavior and asked my friend not to compel him.

I was inquisitive to know the reason so I stopped him. Then what he said was heartbreaking.

He said in a very low tone. ‘Sir, my son passed away in an accident today. I don’t have enough money for his funeral. How can I drink tea or eat anything? I don’t feel the cold, rain or hunger. My heart is burning of grief.  Will you please excuse me and let me go. I have to make money. If I get two or three more customers I can get enough to meet my expenses of funeral.’

We friends were stunned and so much  moved, so offered him to bear the expenses but he refused politely but firmly.

He said, ’Thank you for your generosity. I don’t want to bury my son with charity money. I believe that Allah will help me. I will earn it before dawn.’

He could have charged us double or triple the amount like other common rickshaw drivers in the middle of the night and in such weather but he was a man of principles.

In spite of his poor financial condition and utter need he stood by his integrity.

He left a strong impact of his virtuous character on us.

2 Responses to "Integrity is virtue"

A man of integrity indeed! Powerful story! The father honored his son greatly!

Liked by 1 person

You said you will help me regarding format of poetry on face book in poetry form not in prose:)

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,166 other followers

Archives

Archives

September 2014
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Shine On Award

Dragon’s Loyalty Award

Candle Lighter Award

Versatile Blogger Award

Awesome Blog Content Award

Inner Peace Award

Inner Peace Award

Inner Peace Award

Flag Counter

Flag Counter

We cannot load blog data at this time.

Bliss

blessings for all

Friend

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

