Just Bliss

The Milkmaid and her Pail

Posted on: June 17, 2014


short_stories_milkmaidandherpail3

Patty the Milkmaid was going to market carrying her milk in a pail on her head.

As she went along, she began calculating what she would do with the money she would get for the milk. I’ll buy some fowls from Farmer Brown,” said she, “and they will lay eggs each morning, which I will sell to the parson’s wife..

With the money that I get from the sale of these eggs, I’ll buy myself a new dimity frock and a chip hat; and when I go to market, won’t all the young men come up and speak to me!

Polly Shaw will be so jealous; but I don’t care. I shall just look at her and toss my head like this.” As she spoke that, she tossed her head back and the pail fell off it, and all the milk was spilled all over!

MORAL: DO NOT COUNT YOUR CHICKENS BEFORE THEY ARE HATCHED.

4 Responses to "The Milkmaid and her Pail"

This is one of my favorite childhood stories. I liked reading it again this morning , as I start my day. Have anice day!

Like

Thank you:) stay blessed

Like

I haven’t heard that story before now; though I know and have heard (and used) the moral. What a delightful story; Patty will know better next time.. 😉

Like

such stories are everyday activity every where, where the humans live:) to satisfy their dreams the day dreams

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 831 other followers

Archives

Archives

June 2014
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Shine On Award

Dragon’s Loyalty Award

Candle Lighter Award

Versatile Blogger Award

Awesome Blog Content Award

Inner Peace Award

Inner Peace Award

Inner Peace Award

Flag Counter

Flag Counter

It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

Bliss

blessings for all

Friend

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

