Just Bliss

Memorable tour of HPS

Posted on: March 9, 2012


 Image

It was 1998 June.   Schools were to close for two months for Summer Break. Ali Bahadur and Saleem Jatoi having good reputation in arranging tours planned a trip to beautiful and picturesque northern areas of Pakistan . Tired out minds needed some recreation so interested teachers joyfully agreed.  Students showed their excitement and willingness too when they came to know about the program.

To take students with us needed approval of higher management which seemed intricate. Fortunately Hakim sahib visited the school that day so I availed the opportunity hence asked permission from him. He agreed on condition that if I am going then only he will allow. So the news spread like rumor. The joyfulness among students was like winning the world cup J

I invited parents of interested students to my home to get their written permission and also to share the likes and dislikes of their child. Any special instruction or anything they would liked to share about their child. So it was all settled contentedly.

We were all together 40 people including teachers, students and one support staff, Imam Bux. The students were Nazeer, Muneeb, Ali Asghar, Ayaz, Sair, Zahid, Shuja, Ali Mughal, Omair Naveed, Saadat Ali Shah, Baber and Umair.  I am extremely sorry to admit that some names of students I  fail to recall who were with us in that trip. (I request all those whose names are missing to please remind me so I can add them)

Among teachers were, Sabiha Qaiser, Aijaz Fatima, Lubna Punjwani, Amber, Farzana Hussain, Ali Bahadur, Saleem Jatoi, Shabnam, Sadia, Fauzia Khan, Saba Masroor, myself, my son Yasir Ali and daughter Nadia Rauf.

We started off in second week of June by train. One whole bogie of first class was reserved for us. First destination was Lahore . The sizzling heat of June welcomed us as we stepped down the train at Lahore railway station. Ali Bahadur n Saleem Jatoi had already booked rooms for us in Youth Hostel. But humidity and scorching heat was unbearable so that very day we head off for Islamabad ’s youth hostel.

It was very hot there too but not as bad as Lahore . We stayed there for few days. Teachers helped Imam Bux in cooking. We had taken ration and other necessities from Karachi . Which saved time and money in searching or bargaining.

I was very responsible through out the trip by doing nothing looking very busy J

From there we went to Murree and stayed there for few days in already arranged rooms.

Children were very happy so were we. Fresh cool breeze and clouds full of moisture when caressed our faces, the souls relaxed!

Every night very dutifully I used to go from one room to the other room to see if children were comfortable. And every time I forgot whose slippers I was wearing so wore some one else’s slippers unintentionally going to other room. Children followed me where ever I went like lambs followed Mary J to find their slippersJ. While I being carefree as ever, believed in the famous great boxer Muhammad Ali’s song: “Catch me if you can—-J”

I was deployed by teachers, to scold children if they played pranks or didn’t like to eat what was cooked. So Muneeb gave me the title of Sadar Tarar, the then president of Pakistan . He would announce when all gathered for my scolding lecture—“beware Sadar Tarar is comingJ” It was an open secret. I didn’t mind rather enjoyed.

Our next destination was Swat. We reached Mingora in the evening. So we went from Mingora to Kalam by bus at night. It was pitch dark when the bus was crossing the hanging bridge. Every one recited all holy verses he/she remembered from Quran. The thunderous winds and roaring River Swat under the bridge and the darkness all round where nothing was visible to naked eye scared us to death. It was a frightful journey.

Each one of us heaved a sigh of relief when reached the reserved Ali hotel. How ever the morning was just eye captivating. High mountains, silver water waves of river flowing and greenery all around refreshed our body and minds. Tikala (means roti or bread, in Pashto) restaurant prepared delicious dishes for us.  We all thoroughly enjoyed the stay there. We met Farhana Abidi the librarian of our HPS with her friends in Kalam. We enjoyed the full moon singing old songs and listening to Farhana’s poetry.  From Kalam we proceeded to Utror and Mahudand valley crossing the glacier. It was fun to see the snow being carried to make ice lollies and also used as path way to Mahudand. Mahudand valley has stunning beauty. The tall pine trees’ reflection in the lagoon made the whole view green. Snow clad Falak Sher mountain in the background added mesmerizing look to the valley. It was getting cold with the setting sun so we started our journey back to Kalam. One of our students got sick so we looked for the doctor but amazingly there was not a single doctor to be found in Kalam. The reason was their simple living. Eating healthy breathing fresh air drinking fresh water resulted in healthy life. There was no confectionary shop too. No bakery no junk no pollution no aliment so no doctorJ

That child got better soonJ  with care and rest. One other student had some health problem but as he wanted to enjoy and be a part of our group so his parents having confidence in us allowed him to join.  They were in constant contact with us. They had asked us to send the child back by air if he feels sick.  One day he didn’t feel good. Judging his condition Saleem and Ali Bahadur took him to Saidu Sharif n saw him off for Karachi . His parents were satisfied with our caring of their child.

Teachers and children did lot of shopping for their dear ones and enjoyed every single day together. We reached back home safely alhamdolillah. It’s one of   the memorable tours of my life. We never experienced such beautiful trip after that.

I am grateful to my colleagues who were so caring. No complains from any one was reported. My admiration and love for my dear students who behaved so well throughout and I thank myself for being born sluggish and among so many loved ones. I enjoyed every moment I was with them all.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

27 Responses to "Memorable tour of HPS"

Great memories!

Your bags are full of happiness and perhaps some sorrow too, not to weigh you down but to help relish the good times.

Luv and peace, Eric

Like

thank you my dear friend Eric. God bless you n your family n friends always. amen

Like

kiya yad dila diya.really had a memorable trip with lot of fun.great writer ms. rauf u r.

Like

thank you my dear. it was you and all others who made this trip successful. I am lucky to have you all. lots of love n regards

Like

Well I missed this trip due to some reasons but now I feel I missed nothing. I made some what similar trip with my University friends and reading this I refreshed those memories as well. I found Sair in these photos he was my class mate and a very good student. Seeing all the teachers so young was really a treat to watch you all are just like parents to us!

Also all these places are so mesmerizing that you can never fill your eyes completely nor you can ever come out of their memories!

Like

thank you every one:)

Like

i was there too.such a wonderful trip.i must say you have written it very well.just recalled all the enjoyment and memorable time with teachers and friends we had there.simply awesome

thanks
Nabeel

Like

kia acha he zamana tha, ab to ali bahadur molvi ho gya hai

Like

Ma am very well wriiten and photos made it more sweet , I’ can feel how much yew guyz hv enjoyed overthere.In school ,whenever i herd the annoncement of summer camp , i always tired to hangon but my mom never allowed me.Its is a really good oppurtunity to know eachother well.
Thanks Maam for sharing these beautiful memories with us 🙂
God bless you

Like

I missed that tour too. I should have joined you people 😀
waisay slippers wali baat par bohat hansi aai 🙂

Like

jo bhi likha ek dum sach likha 🙂

Like

wow, simply wow, you take back us in past which was so wonderful

Like

Makes me nostalgic… that was such an awesome time and one of the best memories of HPS that I will cherish forever :D:D…!!!

Like

and the pics are epic too… can’t stop laughing :)… thank you all 🙂

Like

you are very right Muneeb that trip is one of our memorable trips too 🙂

Like

oh yes ammi that was the most memorable trip of my life too. we had too much fun with children and teachers. we spent time with each other like a family. pics r really nice. i m sure everyone will enjoy reading this blog cause so many golden memories r connected with it

Like

ur right Nadia. hsp children really enjoy reading n refreshing their memories:)

Like

wow mrs rauf it seems to travel back in time , ur lucky to have such lovely memories to cherish , may God give u thousands more memories to cherish in the days to come . love u

Like

Your this article reminded me of the Golden times that I spent in those valleys especially kalam, sawat & mahudand….I am sure this trip was one of the best in your life time. ….Please continue sharing 🙂

Enjoying reading this one a lot.

Like

im so happy that you read it. plz keep reading my other blogs too when ever you get time. and keep encouraging me. love you Mani ji

Like

Thanks alot madam it just refresh my memories & remind my the tour we had in 96 with Sir bukhari 🙂 and that was the first tour in history of HPS

Like

Dear Madam
Thank you very much the great writing!!
I can feel that how much you enjoyed as all the students and teachers are just like a family. Im sure that every person will enjoy to reading this BLOG as this has a great memories …
KEEP SHARING

Khalid

Like

I left this school in 1996 after that I studied in best schooIs and colleges of Pakistan but the days that I spent in Hamdard were the days that I will never forget. In these pics I only remember mam Rauf and mam Farzana (very strick).

Like

we remember you Bilal beta. thank you for your kind words. where are you now and doing what

Like

well written.. i wish koi hamari liye bhi aisi trip plan kare.. i luv to northern areas..

Like

ask your teachers 🙂

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 862 other followers

Archives

Archives

March 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Shine On Award

Dragon’s Loyalty Award

Candle Lighter Award

Versatile Blogger Award

Awesome Blog Content Award

Inner Peace Award

Inner Peace Award

Inner Peace Award

Flag Counter

Flag Counter

It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

Bliss

blessings for all

Friend

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

