Just Bliss

Boofi—

Posted on: March 1, 2014


digging-dog

My cousin gifted me a few days old puppy on my birthday. Boofi was chubby fluffy puppy. He looked at me with a frightening looks when I held it in my arms. That very moment I fell in love with it.

He was very playful and cute little pup. I was in sixth grade then. We became very good and close friends. I washed him fed him and played with him. He used to sit by me when I did my homework. Days passed and he grew into a handsome young dog. He accompanied me everywhere I went; to my school, to my friend’s homes to market to park and even to cinema halls. He would sit outside and waited for me. Everyone in Peshawar cantt knew us.

It was hot summer night. We slept in courtyard under the open sky in summers. Counting stars and enjoy the fresh breeze was comforting. It was common practice in those days to sleep like that. Human beings were lived simple life close to nature. There was no fear of thieves or any such tribulations.  Though we lived in cantonment which is safer than other places yet it was not dangerous for any one like today for any one.

It must be after midnight I suppose when I woke up with Boofi barking almost on my face. The first thing crept in my mind was that there’s snake somewhere. I looked down and saw a huge cobra near my bed. Boofi warned me. He knew his friend was in danger. My mother and brother woke up. I told them that there’s a snake. The snake wriggled away.

Snakes and scorpions were not a something uncommon for us. Our house was a huge one made of mud. Thick mud walls kept it cool in sizzling summers and warm in winters. Lawns and fields were all around our house. So snakes scorpions wasps and things like this lived with us. Neither they harmed us nor did we hurt them.

In short, my dear Boofi proved his faithfulness. He was such a darling. Someone shot him dead. My nephews buried him in the backyard. Luckily I wasn’t home that time so didn’t see his last moments.

No dog has ever taken my attention so much as Boofi did. His memory is fresh in my mind. I can never forget him

 

4 Responses to "Boofi—"

A fascinating story. My mother’s dog saved her in a similar way, not from a snake but from a fire – he barked and barked until she woke, realised her flat was on fire and ran outside.

Like

thank God your mom was saved. thanks to the faithful dog :)

Like

Wow this story is powerful. The love and faithfulness of the family dog, also considered another family member who protected everyone. A day in which we can identify without worrying of thieves, or criminal to harm anyone. A worry free time … where we could sleep under the stars and study astronomy (or pretend we were)! Unfortunately, the dog’s demise was sad that another human would take his life. That must have been a sad and lonely time. Take care and stay safe, Edie

Like

Thank you for reading and feeling the feel:) beleive me i still miss him thoough im almost 65 years old but his faithfulness is deeprooted. thanks again for reading my blogs. stay blessed ameen

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 721 other followers

Archives

Archives

March 2014
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Shine On Award

Dragon’s Loyalty Award

Candle Lighter Award

Versatile Blogger Award

Awesome Blog Content Award

Inner Peace Award

Inner Peace Award

Inner Peace Award

Flag Counter

Flag Counter
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 721 other followers

